Spieth To Defend Title At Valero Texas Open This Spring

Jordan Spieth

Photo: Getty Images

Jordan Spieth will be in San Antonio to defend his 2021 title as the Valero Texas Open Champion. The world's 14th-ranked golfer will also try to become the first Valero Texas Open Champion to win the tournament twice in a row since Zach Johnson pulled it off in 2008 and 2009. PGA officials made the announcement on Thursday. The event is scheduled for March 28th through April 3rd at the J.W. Marriott Resort's TPC The Oaks course.

"Winning the Valero Texas Open last year was incredibly special for me and my family,” explained Spieth. “We’re really looking forward to returning to San Antonio to defend my title and the fact that it’s the 100th anniversary of the tournament makes it even more exciting.”

All eight champions returning for the 100th anniversary of the Valero Texas Open have won it in the past ten years. Joining Spieth are Corey Conners (2019), Andrew Landry (2018), Kevin Chappell (2017), Charley Hoffman (2016), Jimmy Walker (2015), Martin Laird (2013) and Brendan Steele (2011).

This group has accumulated 33 PGA TOUR career titles, including four major championships. For Conners, Landry, Chappell and Steele, the Valero Texas Open represents their first PGA TOUR title.

“As we prepare for a historic edition of the Valero Texas Open, we are delighted this incredible group of champions from over the past decade will be returning,” said Larson Segerdahl, Valero Texas Open Executive Director. “We are excited to host the best players in the world and celebrate 100 years of the tournament with the entire San Antonio community while raising charitable funds for those in need.”

In addition to those past champions competing in the tournament, several legendary players and Hall of Fame members will be on hand during tournament week to help commemorate the 100th anniversary. Deane Beman (1969 Texas Open Champion), Ben Crenshaw (1973 & 1986 Texas Open Champion), Hale Irwin (1977 Texas Open Champion), Lee Trevino (1980 Texas Open Champion) and Tom Watson (1987 Texas Open Champion) are all scheduled to appear.

Crenshaw, Trevino and Watson will be featured speakers at the tournament’s annual Night to Honor Our Heroes presented by Boeing military appreciation banquet on Friday, April 1. Sponsorships and guest tables are still available for those interested in supporting the event.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content