Texas Primary Election Results

Elections 2022

Photo: Getty Images

Texas voters went to the polls to decide a number of races as part of the state's primary election. Key races included all of the state's congressional districts, governor and lieutenant governor, and dozens of seats in the Texas Legislature. 

Incumbent Governor Greg Abbott and Democratic challenger Beto O'Rourke easily won their party nominations in Tuesday's statewide primary election. Abbott picked up nearly 70% of the vote against seven opponents. O'Rourke picked up more than 90% of the vote against four opponents. Abbott will face O'Rourke in the general election in November.

Lt. Governor Dan Patrick easily won his party's nomination, picking up more than 76% of the vote in a six candidate field. Patrick will face the winner of a Democratic runoff between Mike Collier and Michelle Beckley after neither candidate received 50% of the vote in a three candidate field.

Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton is headed for a runoff against Land Commissioner George P. Bush. Paxton failed to win 50% of the vote in Tuesday's Republican primary, despite the endorsement of former President Donald Trump. Paxton joined supporters Tuesday night at his watch party in McKinney. Former Texas Supreme Court Judge Eva Guzman trailed Bush, and U.S. Rep. Louis Gohmert came in a distant fourth. The runoff election is scheduled for May 24th.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content