Sincere McCormick Named Doak Walker Award Semifinalist

For the second straight season, UTSA junior Sincere McCormick has been named a semifinalist for the Doak Walker Award, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced on Wednesday.

McCormick is one of 10 semifinalists for the award that that recognizes the nation's premier running back for his accomplishments on the field, achievement in the classroom and citizenship in the community.

A product of Converse Judson High School, McCormick ranks eighth in the nation in rushing yards with 1,150 to go along with 11 touchdowns on 230 carries through 10 games this season. The 2020 Conference USA Offensive Player of the Year and second-team All-American has posted a UTSA record-tying seven 100-yard rushing games this season highlighted by a 184-yard output on a school-record 41 rushes in the 31-28 comeback win at Memphis on Sept. 25 for which he earned Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award National Player of the Week accolades.He went for 169 yards on 21 carries, including a 75-yard TD dash on the second play from scrimmage, in the 44-23 road win over UTEP.

McCormick currently owns 20 UTSA records, including career marks for rushing yards (3,600), rushing touchdowns (30) and all-purpose yards (4,037). He also has topped the century mark on the ground in a program-best 17 contests, and he owns the school standard for points scored (186) by a non-kicker. In 2020, he established seven school records, including the single-season rushing mark with 1,467, the second-best total in the country last fall. He ranks second among active FBS players in career rushing yards and rushes per game.

To determine the 2021 finalists, members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes. Three finalists for the award will be named Tuesday, Nov. 23. The Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast a second vote to select the 2021 award recipient. The 2021 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live onTheHome Depot College Football Awardson Thursday, Dec. 9, on ESPN.

The Award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points, led the Mustangs to two Southwest Conference Championships. He was drafted by the Detroit Lions and led the league in scoring his rookie year. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

2021 Doak Walker Award Semifinalists

Tyler Allgeier, BYU

Tyler Badie, Missouri

Breece Hall, Iowa State

TreVeyon Henderson, Ohio State

Sincere McCormick, UTSA

Bijan Robinson, Texas

Abram Smith, Baylor

Sean Tucker, Syracuse

Deuce Vaughn, Kansas State

Kenneth Walker III, Michigan State

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content