Four ERCOT Board Members Resign

Four board members are stepping down from the Electric Reliability Council of Texas. The quartet, which includes Chairwoman Sally Talberg and Vice Chair Peter Cramton, resigned today saying it's because they don't live in Texas. 

The group says they're sorry for all the power outages Texans dealt with last week after winter storms hit the state. Their letter also encourages the state to invest in infrastructure. ERCOT announced a board candidate also withdrew his name from consideration.

“When Texans were in desperate need of electricity, ERCOT failed to do its job and Texans were left shivering in their homes without power. ERCOT leadership made assurances that Texas’ power infrastructure was prepared for the winter storm, but those assurances proved to be devastatingly false," said Governor Greg Abbott. "The lack of preparedness and transparency at ERCOT is unacceptable, and I welcome these resignations. The State of Texas will continue to investigate ERCOT and uncover the full picture of what went wrong, and we will ensure that the disastrous events of last week are never repeated.”

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content