2018 Texas Women’s Hall Of Fame Honorees Announced

Women's Hall of Fame

Governor Greg Abbott and the Governor’s Commission for Women announced  Wednesday seven Texas women who have been selection for induction into  the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame.

2018 Nominees

  • Laura Bush - Former first lady of the United States 
  • Judith Zaffirini - Texas state senator (D-Laredo) and first Hispanic woman elected to the Texas Senate
  • Susan Dell - Businesswoman and philanthropist. Co-founder of the Michael & Susan Dell Foundation
  • Tammie Jo Shults - American commercial airline captain and captain of Flight 1380
  • Vikki Carr - Grammy Award-winning vocalist  
  • Simone Biles - First female African-American all-around world champion and a five-time Olympic medalist in gymnastics
  • Sister Elizabeth Anne Sueltenfuss - Former president of Our Lady of the Lake University in San Antonio

The women are being recognized for their outstanding achievement and for changing the course of history.

“The Texas Women’s Hall of Fame recognizes  and celebrates remarkable Texas women not only for their individual  achievements, but also for their contributions to the strength of the  Lone Star State, and I am honored to welcome these seven accomplished  women as this year’s inductees,” Abbott said. “Each of the honorees is  recognized as a trailblazer, an inspiration for the next generation of  leaders who will follow in their footsteps in fields such as business,  education, military service, philanthropy, public service, sports, the  arts and sciences, and more. The first lady and I would like to thank  each of these distinguished honorees and their families for their  enduring contributions to this great state.”

A permanent exhibit is housed at Texas  Woman’s University in Denton, Texas, and currently features the  biographies and photographs of all recipients.

An induction ceremony will be held on January 17, 2019, at the Governor’s Mansion in Austin, Texas.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content