The NCAA Tournament field is set


The 68-team NCAA Tournament field is  set. Virginia was named the top-overall during Selection Sunday after winning the ACC Tournament title and moving to 31-and-2 on the season.   UVA will play in the South Region.  The other number-one seeds are  Villanova in the East Region, Kansas in the Midwest and Xavier out  West.  The number-two seeds went to Cincinnati, Purdue, Duke and North Carolina.

The NCAA Tournament gets going on Tuesday with the "First Four" in Dayton.  Sixteen-seeds Radford and LIU  Brooklyn battle, followed by 11-seeds UCLA and St. Bonaventure.  The  other two First Four matchups are Wednesday, as Arizona State squares  off with fellow 11-seed Syracuse, and NC Central takes on Texas Southern  in a showdown of 16-seeds.  The First Round gets going on Thursday.   

Seven Texas schools are in the field. Texas, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, Houston, TCU, Texas Southern and Stephen F. Austin will be playing in the tournament. 

East Region

No. 3 Texas Tech vs. No. 14 Stephen F. Austin, 6:27 p.m. Thursday, Dallas

South Region 

No. 10 Texas vs. No. 7 Nevada, 3:30 p.m. Friday, Nashville

Midwest Region

No. 6 TCU vs. No. 11 Arizona State/Syracuse, 8:40 p.m. Friday, Detroit

West Region

No. 7 Texas A&M vs. No. 10 Providence, 11:15 a.m. Friday, Charlotte, N.C.

No. 6 Houston vs. No. 11 San Diego State, 6:20 p.m. Thursday, Wichita, Kan.

No. 1 Xavier vs. No. 16 Texas Southern/ NC Central (5:40 p.m. Wed.), 6:20 p.m. Friday, Nashville

The Final Four is set for March 31st in San Antonio.  The men's national  championship will take place April 2nd.

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content