Biggest City Council Turnover in a Half Century Takes Place Tonight

Five new members of San Antonio City Council will take the oath of office tonight in a ceremony at the Arneson River Theater.  When joined by civil engineer Ana Sandoval, the six new members of council represent the largest one year turnover since the decision was made to switch to single member district elections back in the 1970s, News Radio 1200 WOAI reports.

Sandoval, who defeated Cris Medina outright in the May election, was sworn in two weeks ago.  She'll be joined tonight by attorney Manny Pelaez, who was elected to Council from District Eight, succeeding Mayor Elect Ron Nirenberg, teacher and Air Force veteran John Courage, who succeeded the retiring Joe Krier in District Nine, construction manager and Air Force veteran Clayton Perry, who succeeded the retiring Mike Gallagher in District Ten, banker and political consultant Greg Brockhouse, who succeeded Ray Lopez, who was term limited, in District Six, and bankruptcy attorney Cruz Shaw, who defeated incumbant Alan Warrick in District Two.

Nirenberg, a radio broadcaster and incumbent District Eight Councilman, will also be sworn in as Mayor tonight, after he defeated urban planner Ivy Taylor in this month's runoff.

The three Council members who actually won re-election last month, educator Rey Saldana, small buisness owner Shirley Gonzales, and former Hispanic Chamber of Commerce executive Rebecca Viagran, will also be sworn in tonight.

The new Council members will be taking thier seats at City Hall for tomorrow's regular meeting.Nirenberg plans to hit the ground running with his team.  He has indicated that at tomorrow's meeting he will encourage the new Council to approve a resoultion continuing San Antonio's participation in the Global Accord on Climate Change, despite President Trump's withdrawal from the accord last month.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content