USFL Reveals Eight Franchises Including Houston Gamblers,

The United States Football League revealed the eight franchises that will start play in April. The Northern Division consists of the Michigan Panthers, the New Jersey Generals, the Philadelphia Stars and the Pittsburgh Maulers. The Southern Division is made up of the Birmingham Stallions, the Houston Gamblers, the New Orleans Breakers and the Tampa Bay Bandits

All eight are former franchises from the first iteration of the USFL, which started play in 1983 and ceased operations three years later. The league will play the 2022 season in one yet-to-be-named host city, with each team playing 10 regular season games on Saturday's or Sunday's.

"We're excited to take this next major step in the development of a new USFL," said Brian Woods, USFL President of Football Operations in a release. "These eight teams form the core of our initial league membership and will represent an exciting brand of professional football coming this spring. We look forward to the start of our inaugural season."

The teams will play a 10-game schedule, followed by semifinals between the top two teams in each division to crown the division winners. Then, the championship will be played between those two winners.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content