Frank Harris On Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Semifinalist List

Photo: Photo: UTSA/Vashaun Newman

UTSA quarterback Frank Harris has been named a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced on Tuesday.

Harris is one of 20 FBS signal-callers on the list, which is comprised of nine seniors, five juniors, four sophomores and two freshmen, and consists of players from nine FBS conferences as well as one football independent.

A product of Schertz Clemens High School, Harris has completed 173 of 254 passes for 2,079 yards and 18 touchdowns against only three interceptions to help lead the 15th-ranked Roadrunners to a 9-0 overall record and first place in C-USA’s West Division with a 5-0 mark. He also has rushed for 346 yards and four TDs on 64 carries, giving him 2,425 yards of total offense and 22 total scores. Also a member of the Manning Award watch list, he ranks 19th in points responsible for (138), 20th in the nation in passing TDs, 22nd in completion percentage (.678) and 23rd in passing efficiency (157.3) this fall.

Harris earned Manning Award Quarterback of the Week and C-USA Offensive Player of the Week honors after a career night in UTSA’s 52-46 win over WKU on Oct. 9 in Bowling Green, Ky. The senior completed 28 of 38 passes for a career-best 349 yards and a school-record six passing touchdowns, as the Roadrunners racked up a season-high 564 yards of offense. He caught a 23-yard TD pass, giving him seven total scores in the game, and he also rushed for 51 yards on nine carries, setting a UTSA single-game record for total offense with 400 yards.

For his career, Harris has thrown for 4,195 yards and 33 touchdowns on 398-of-595 passing. He currently tops the program’s career charts for completion percentage (.669) and passing efficiency (140.72) and he ranks third in passing yards, attempts, completions and TDs. He also stands second all-time in total offense yards per game (216.5) and third in both total offense yards (5,195) and touchdowns responsible for (47).

“Due to the closeness in our voting, the Foundation decided to expand to 20 deserving semifinalists this year,” Davey O’Brien Foundation executive director Kendall Cason Iles said. “The 2021 season has been fascinating, and our Fan Vote reflected that excitement as a record number of voters showed support for their favorite quarterback during our first round.” 

The next step in the process will be to select the award’s three finalists based on voting from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee as well as the second round of the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, which will take place on the award’s three social media accounts—InstagramTwitter and Facebook. The top five vote getters on each platform will receive bonus committee member ballots which will be added to the votes cast by the National Selection Committee. 

To participate in the Fan Vote, fans must like the original Davey O’Brien Award post highlighting the quarterback. Each round of the selection process will offer two one-week voting periods for fans. 

The three finalists will be tabbed on Tuesday, Nov. 23. The winner will be announced live on Thursday, Dec. 9, on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN. 

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. Over its time, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1.2 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. 

In 1938, O’Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. For more information, visit

2021 Davey O’Brien Award Semifinalists

Brennan Armstrong, Virginia, Jr. 6-2, 215, Shelby, Ohio 

Stetson Bennett, Georgia, Sr., 5-11, 190, Blackshear, Ga. 

Anthony Brown, Oregon, Sr., 6-3, 226, Cliffwood, N.J. 

Matt Corral, Ole Miss, Jr., 6-2, 205, Ventura, Calif. 

Jake Haener, Fresno State, Sr., 6-1, 195, Danville, Calif. 

Frank Harris, UTSA, Sr., 6-0, 200, Schertz, Texas 

Sam Hartman, Wake Forest, So., 6-1, 208, Charlotte, N.C. 

Hendon Hooker, Tennessee, Sr., 6-4, 218, Greensboro, N.C. 

Sam Howell, North Carolina, Jr., 6-1, 220, Indian Trail, N.C. 

Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina, So., 6-3, 210, Indian Trail, N.C. 

Tanner Mordecai, SMU, Jr., 6-3, 218, Waco, Texas 

Kenny Pickett, Pitt, Sr., 6-3, 220, Oakhurst, N.J. 

Desmond Ridder, Cincinnati, Sr., 6-4, 215, Louisville, Ky. 

Will Rogers, Mississippi State, So., 6-2, 210, Brandon, Miss. 

Carson Strong, Nevada, Sr., 6-4, 215, Vacaville, Calif. 

C.J. Stroud, Ohio State, R-Fr., 6-3, 218, Empire, Calif. 

Caleb Williams, Oklahoma, Fr., 6-1, 218, Washington, D.C. 

Malik Willis, Liberty, Jr., 6-1, 225, Atlanta, Ga. 

Bryce Young, Alabama, So., 6-0, 194, Pasadena, Calif. 

Bailey Zappe, Western Kentucky, Sr., 6-1, 220, Victoria, Texas

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content