Big 12 To Expand, Houston Among Teams Set To Join

Texas Tech v TCU

Photo: Getty Images

The Big 12 Conference is planning to welcome four new schools. The conference announced invites were extended to the University of Houston, Brigham Young University, the University of Central Florida, and the University of Cincinnati.

On Friday morning, Big 12 presidents voted to expand the league with four schools. In addition to the Cougars, BYU, Cincinnati and UCF accepted invitations to join the league. Those four newcomers will compete against current Big 12 members Baylor, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas Tech and West Virginia.

The invites come after the University of Texas and the University of Oklahoma decided to leave the Big 12 for the SEC.

"Joining the Big 12 Conference is a historic step in our institutional journey and signifies the tremendous growth and success attained academically and athletically over the last decade," UH President Renu Khator said. "Our expectations for our University remain high, our aspirations continue to be bold, and we embrace this new opportunity to compete at the highest levels in all we do."

"Today is a monumental day in the trajectory of the University of Houston. Over the years there have been many moments and many people responsible for those moments that have paved the way to today's years-in-the-making announcement. As a Cougar myself, it is a privilege and honor to represent the many who have played a role in getting all of us to this special day," Vice President for Athletics Chris Pezman said. "On behalf of the University of Houston, I want to thank Commissioner Bob Bowlsby and the membership of the Big 12 for their belief in us and the value we can add to the Conference. Our collective past performances have led us to the opportunity we have today. We are humbled, honored, excited and ready to get to work. Together, what we can accomplish is limitless."

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content