Mayor, New City Council Take Office Today

Its Inauguration Day at City Hall, as the newly re-elected Mayor and six returning Council members, and the three newcomers who won runoff elections earlier this month, take the oath of office and begin their two year terms, News Radio 1200 WOAI reports.

The new City Council will be majority female for only the second time in the city's history, as Jada Andrews-Sullivan in east side District Two, Adrianna Rocha Garcia in southwest side District Four, and Melissa Cabello Havrada, in northwest side District Six, who all won in runoff elections earlier this month, join returning members Ana Sandoval, Rebecca Viagran, and Shirley Gonzales on the ten member Council.

Andrews-Sullivan will succeed Art Hall and Garcia will succeed Rey Saldana, both of whom were prohibited by the city's term limits laws from seeking another term. In fact, Saldana joins Ray Lopez as the longest serving council members since term limits were approved in the early 1990s, leaving after the maximum four two-year terms.

Havrada succeeds Greg Brockhouse in District Six on the northwest side. Brockhouse gave up the seat after one term to make an unsuccessful run for Mayor.

The man who beat Brockhouse, Ron Nirenberg, will also be inaugurated for his second term.

The day will consist of canvassing the votes during the weekly Wednesday afternoon 'B' work session, followed by the presentation of plaques to outgoing members.

There will be a special blessing of the new Council at San Fernando Cathedral following that, with all members invited to bring their own clergy members to participate.

This evening, there will the formal swearing in of the Mayor and ten Council members at the Council Chambers, followed by ceremony, remarks, and a reception to follow.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

News Radio 1200 WOAI · San Antonio's News, Traffic and Weather
Listen Now on iHeartRadio