Nirenberg re-elected

Ron Nirenberg won a second term as Mayor of San Antonio Saturday night, turning aside a strong challenge from Councilman Greg Brockhouse, News Radio 1200 WOAI reports.

Nirenberg rode a strong performance in the early vote, which numbered three times the number of votes cast on Election Day.

Brockhouse actually slightly won the Election Day vote, but, while he did close the gap, he was unable to overcome Nirenberg's strong lead.

Nirenberg will govern with a female majority City Council, for only the second time in the city's history. Jada Andrews-Sullivan in District 2, Adriana Rocha Garcia in District 4, and Melissa Havrda in District 6, the seat Brockhouse gave up to run for mayor, all run runoff races.

The election, while a narrow victory for Nirenberg, is a vote of confidence in Nirenberg's initiatives, including long- range planning on climate change, and the controversial decision to ban Chick-fil-A from the airport.

Even though Nirenberg ran in a non partisan election, the Texas Democratic Party was quick to congratulate him on his victory, tweeting that it shows that 'Trump style politics' have no place in San Antonio.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

News Radio 1200 WOAI · San Antonio's News, Traffic and Weather
Listen Now on iHeartRadio