Packed Ballot Awaits Voters as Early Voting Begins for City Elecitons

Early voting begins today in the San Antonio municipal election, News Radio 1200 WOAI reports.

Voters will be deciding on the next mayor and the ten members of City Council. School board members are up for election in several districts, City Councils in suburban communities are being elected, and Kirby, Helotes, and Shavano Park are deciding whether to continue special tax-funded districts, crime control efforts in Kirby and Shavano Park, and a street repair effort in Helotes.

Windcrest voters will consider a number of propositions, including whether to allow the City Attorney to be removed, and limit the authority of City Council.

In San Antonio, while incumbant Ron Nirenberg and Councilman Greg Brockhouse have gotten the most attention, actually nine people are running for Mayor.

Its the same situation in the City Council districts, where District 3 Councilwoman Rebecca Viagran, with only one opponent has the smallest number of challengers. Downtown Councilman Roberto Trevino has eight challengers, and northeast side Councilman Clayton Perry has four.

There will be at least three new faces on Council in June. District Four's Rey Saldana is term limited out. Appointed east side Councilman Art Hall is also prohibited by term limits from seeking another term. Hall was just appointed to Council in January, but since he served two terms as District Eight Councilman, from the northwest side, last decade, and when he served before two terms was the limit, the City Attorney ruled he too is term limited out.

And in District 6, Brockhouse's seat is up for grabs. Election day is May 4th. The runoff date is June 8th.

The sheer number of candidates for Mayor and for many Council seats guarantees a runoff, because to win, a candidate has to get 50% of the vote plus one.


Content Goes Here