Donkey Stampede in Bexar County Races as Republican Judges Lose Seats

Attorney Joe Gonzalez, who defeating incumbent Nico LaHood in the March Democratic primary, kept the D.A.'s office in Democratic hands, easily defeating Republican Tylden Shaeffer in a hard fought contest, News Radio 1200 WOAI reports.

Gonzalez challenged LaHood after reports surfaced that LaHood had once threatened to damage Gonzalez' law practice over comments made in a court hearing.

Gonzalez led a donkey stampede in Bexar County races, led by veteran County Judge Nelson Wolff and long time Commissioner Paul Elizondo, who easily won re-election.

But, led by strong Democrat straight ticket voting, Republican County Clerk Gerry Rickhoff and District Clerk Donna McKinney both lost their jobs.

Also losing were veteran District Court Judges Richard Price, Melisa Skinner, and Stephani Walsh all lost.

Among State Representatives, State Rep Lyle Larson and State Senator Donna Campbell, both Republicans, were easily re-elected, as were Democrats Diego Bernal, Ina Minjarrez, Barbara Gervin-Hawkins and Justin Rodriguez

.Republican Steve Allison won the race to succeed retiring State Rep and House Speaker Joe Straus in Alamo Heights.

It was definitely a huge night for Democrats in Bexar County, who led the overall vote 58% to 40%.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

News Radio 1200 WOAI · San Antonio's News, Traffic and Weather
Listen Now on iHeartRadio